NRM votes Kakooza to replace the late Kasamba in EALA

Saturday 17th July 2021

The National Resistance Movement (NRM) Party Caucus in Parliament have voted Hon James Kakooza to replace the Late Honorable Mathias Kasamba as a Member of Parliament (MP) in the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

Kakooza defeated the former State minister in charge of Tourism Hon Godfrey Kiwanda Ssuubi, Mr Abbas Mutumba, the former Principle Assistant to Hon Kasamba and four other candidates.

Hon Kakooza emerged victorious with 93 votes which translates into 39.2%, Kiwanda who is also the party vice chairperson Central regions was the first runner up with 85 voted which is 35.9% and Mr. Abbas Mutumba came third with 54 votes.

Other candidates who participated in the EALA race include Kenneth Nsubuga Ssebagayunga, Nakato Kyabangi and Lule Umar Mawiya.

For 20 years, Kakooza represented Kabura County in Parliament of Uganda. He also served as state minister for Primary Health Care. 

Upon confirmation by the Parliament of Uganda, Kakooza will be joining eight EALA MPs in Arusha Tanzania to complete the last year remaining on their five-year term.

Hon Kasamba died in May and was buried in Rakia District. 

NRM Parliamentary caucus election

The Caucus also voted four members of the caucus executive who included Herbert Kinobere as Vice chairperson, Lillian Aber as General Secretary, Nakut Faith as Treasurer and Brandon Kintu as Publicity Secretary.