NRM’s Muwonge wins Kayunga LC5 by-election

Friday 17th December 2021

The Independent Electoral Commission has declared NRM candidate Andrew Muwonge as the winner of the Kayunga LC5 by-election.

Muwonge polled 31,830 votes against his closest rival and National Unity Platform’s Harriet Nakweede’s 31,380 votes.
On the other side, Majid Nyanzi got 1297 votes, Musisi Boniface Bandikubi (Independent), 470 votes, Jamilu Kamoga, 279 and Democratic Party’s Anthony Wadimba got 158 votes.

“Accordingly, as returning officer for Kayunga Electoral District, I declare Andrew Muwonge having obtained the largest number of votes, the winner for Kayunga Electoral District,” the Returning Officer, Jennifer Kyobutungi, said.

Speaking to journalists shortly after the announcement, Muwonge applauded voters for their support.

“I call upon the people of Kayunga to put aside their differences and unite to take forward our district. This is our home, it is better we unite to work for our people and the prosperity of Kayunga,” Muwonge said.

By being elected as the new LC5 chairperson, Muwonge now fills the vacancy left behind after the unfortunate death of Muhammad Ffeffekka Sserubogo in June this year.